Skip to main content

dilemma 88 Responses

Last post: 3 months, 3 weeks ago | Thread started: Aug 12, 08, 6:33 p.m.

RespondNew TopicDisable Images

  • elpaso

    ok this is going to sound really stupid but...

    i've book a surf trip last week and now i'm checking out accomodation. so i'm in talks with this guy from a surf shack that came recommended in one of those 'Stormrider' surf travel guides.

    the only thing is he wants me to pay by cheque
    UPFRONT! £470..

    am i being stupid in thinking it's a bit suss?
    he seems to be pretty decent and has raving reviews everywhere i look online for him (but then again how do i know he hasnt written it himself??)

    do i trump up the cheque and risk being fleeced?
    or do i turn him down and not stay at this mega beachside place?

    http://morocsurf.com legit? or quit?

    Aug 12, 08, 6:33 p.m. – Permalink
  • elpaso

    forgive spelling - this new mac keyboard is w a n k

    + add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earAug 12, 08, 6:33 p.m. – Permalink
  • cannonball

    quit.
    no stranger's worth cash upfront. They gotta earn that trust...

    next note >add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earAug 12, 08, 6:36 p.m. – Permalink
  • Jnr_Madison

    It's not that weird to book for accommodation in full if you are staying there in under 28 days.

    • but the again, I have no idea what stormrider is or have booked a surf shack.Jnr_Madison
    + add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earAug 12, 08, 6:36 p.m. – Permalink
  • elpaso

    but can i get insurance on a check in case someone fucks off with my money?

    • send it to him, but don't sign it until you get there?lambsy1/2
      hahaelpaso2/2
    next note >+ add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earAug 12, 08, 6:38 p.m. – Permalink
  • elpaso

    Jnr - storm rider = lonelyplanet/rough guide/trip advisor books
    but for surfing http://www.lowpressure.co.uk/

    it's pretty established and well regarded - my thinking is that they wouldnt promote scam artists year in - year out... right?

    + add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earAug 12, 08, 6:40 p.m. – Permalink
  • elpaso

    oh yeah the other thing is that he said he'd do it for a discount if i sent it to him before end of august i'd get it for cheep ie £470 (not £600)

    (i also find this 'rushing' slightly suss)

    - but really i have a wee bit of trust in human kind - i'd feellike shit if that was destroyed straight up!

    next note >add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earAug 12, 08, 6:46 p.m. – Permalink
  • _salisae_

    i doubt it is a scam. i paid upfront for a 2 weeks stay in hawaii. don't you get more protection from scams if you pay through paypal?

    • which is why the cheque thing is a bit of a worry! if it ws bank transfer then i'd be coolelpaso1/4
      i remember being pretty suspicious as well and i mentioned it to the sales lady. she reassured me by sending_salisae_2/4
      the itinerary and the billing paperwork . which i know ppl can forge but it had phone numbers that took calls so i figured they couldn't be fake._salisae_3/4
      figured they couldn't be fake._salisae_4/4
    next note >+ add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earAug 12, 08, 6:51 p.m. – Permalink
  • enjine

    i did the same when going to talum. no biggie.

    next note >add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earAug 12, 08, 6:57 p.m. – Permalink

Login or Register to respond to this

Skip to main content