Public Voice Network
- capitalism 395395
- What are you listening to… 954954
- Asked to help with redesi… 55
- what camera
- brand design studio 1010
- Public Enemy 2727
- photoshop on pixel design 1717
- What would Bringhurst do? 1313
- New Apple Cinema Display 1414
- clothing line 2727
- Vacation tomorrow 88
- Politics 50455045
- Simple Viewer 33
- Official 2008-09 NHL Thre… 110110
- rippity rip 5151
- CSS Vertica 1010
- Flash Audio Player w/ Pla… 44
- Darth Vadar Bowling 44
- blog 3114931149
- FMT 120508 2323
- last day 1212
- external hard drive 6060
- Logo in Word Doc 1717
- AG alternates... WTF? 1010
superfuture is malware??? 1111 Responses
Last post: 3 months, 2 weeks ago | Thread started: Aug 19, 08, 2:31 p.m.
- keiTai
Just today i found out that superfuture.com gives me a malware-this will harm your computer message according to google/firefox/ie. Anyone else noticed??
i have been redirected to
http://www.google.nl/interstitia…- Aug 19, 08, 2:31 p.m. – Permalink
- wwfc
...I had one of these warnings placed on the listing of one of my clients sites. I dragged the whole site off the server and found some lines of code in the index file. So I just wrote a new index page and replaced the files with the minimum files - no test folders or anything else that wasn't relevant to the main site I also had to create and submit a new sitemap, the new sitemap had a handful of links listed in it, the infected one returned 1224 links to everything from real estate to jewellery!!!.
I asked google to review the site and also stopbadware.org to have a look too - got that message removed in a couple of days.Pain in the ass though!


- Dog-earAug 20, 08, 12:26 a.m. – Permalink
- keiTai
@wwfc, wow that's "my nightmare".
1 / [quote]..found some lines of code[/quote] you mean lines you didn't write.
2/ are test folder really a no-no=
3/[quote]..submit....sitemap… infected one.....[/quote] you mean your sitemap.html (.php/.xml) got overwritten with the links

- Dog-earAug 20, 08, 12:53 a.m. – Permalink
- wwfc
...I must admit I was somewhat horrified when I saw the stripped in lines of code! no idea how it got there - but was easy enough to write a new index page to replace it with.
I don't think it is really bad practice to have folders and files that aren't 100% relevant to the sites function - but I had a few folders on there that were part of the sites eventual evolution, and part of the report from google outlined one or two files within these folders - so they had to go.
Yes, the xml sitemap contained 1224+ links to urls that were not supposed be there - no idea how the sitemap got rewritten or replaced but sure enough my client does not sell speedboats, jewellery, used auto nor real estate - but the links in the sitemap were just that!!! and more!
Are you the site owner? You can get a breakdown of pages/files infected from google - you might need to create an account to verify your site ownership, but no great shakes to do that - you just upload an empty html doc with their random title to the server - or add a little code to the home page - then you can see just what is going on with the malware. It'll show you what pages etc... need to be cleaned up the activity of the malware.
I was pretty lucky as there was not too much to put right - and the notice was gone pretty quickly, considering how long it takes google to index and update sites in general. Fingers crossed you can get your listing cleared in equal time.
Good luck!


- Dog-earAug 20, 08, 1:06 a.m. – Permalink
- wwfc
...yes, if google knows that you are the owner/authorised bod - then you should just be able to click on the link for your site and then follow the links on the following page. It should give you a full report on what pages are dodgy - how many times the site has infected other users etc...
I think stopbadware.org will give you a report too - if you tap in your url.Once you have cleaned it all up then ask google and stopbadware to review the site - and (hopefully) bingo you're free to go about your business! ;-)


- Dog-earAug 20, 08, 1:38 a.m. – Permalink


