Skip to main content

Some Advice... 2323 Responses

Last post: 9 months, 3 weeks ago | Thread started: Jan 14, 08, 7:05 a.m.

RespondNew TopicDisable Images

  • ronin

    A company called ColoritStudio has pirated our site. At one point they did'nt even bother to change the html code and left our meta information untouched.

    We contacted them with a "cease and desist" email. ColoritStudo said they would look into it.

    One month later, they fixed their code but still
    have the stolen files and pirated site live.

    Original:
    www.variousways.com

    Pirrated:
    www.coloritstudio.com

    Has anyone ran into a similiar situation? Any advice on how to procede without taking legal action?

    Jan 14, 08, 7:05 a.m. – Permalink
  • Drno

    ahahah i would say they ripped it, not pirated,

    you should try the lawyer card, always scare the cunts

    • nice rip....alla
    + add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 7:10 a.m. – Permalink
  • chossy

    Probably better seek revenge without a master for guidance and carry out your own assassinations like well I guess a ronin might?...

    • haha, too fucking right, choppy choppy on those muthaskelpie
    + add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 7:10 a.m. – Permalink
  • 734

    i've heard of pirated sites before but this is by far the most obscene case of it. wow. i mean its not that it looks similar... it IS your site. i would assume your company has a lawyer or access to a credible one. i would discuss it with him and either have him contact them or contact them again. usually when the lawyer card is played people pay attention... but good luck, sorry i dont have much more advice

    + add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 7:11 a.m. – Permalink
  • detritus

    Ouch? This still going on? What's that now, 6 months? They're based in the bastard child of Romania, so I wouldn't worry too much - if they're this unprofessional then they're doomed to failure anyway.

    Thieving bastard cunts though, all the same.

    next note >add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 7:11 a.m. – Permalink
  • NewElpaso

    i dont know Nairn..

    like if i found the 'bastard site' first - i wouldnt think less of them..

    if i THEN found out that it was ripped - then yeah.. i'd think they were scum..

    but the problem is - their clients have probably never heard of variousways.com... so to them .. the bastard site is totally original.

    cooonts

    next note >add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 7:12 a.m. – Permalink
  • marychain

    Burn their place of business down...it's the only logical thing to do.

    next note >add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 7:13 a.m. – Permalink
  • detritus

    Given that you've no practical legal recourse - unless you have substantially deep pockets - I'd expend your effort in counter-actions. GoogleBomb their business name and URLs, lambast them online everywhere - make it so that their site is tarnished before anyone anyone even gets there.

    next note >add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 7:13 a.m. – Permalink
  • flashbender

    wow, that's one of the more blatant rips I've seen in a while.

    next note >+ add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 7:16 a.m. – Permalink
  • skt

    sure it isn't a template site you have been sold?

    • it kinda looks like a template..doesn't it?marychain
    + add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 7:18 a.m. – Permalink
  • skwiotsmith

    "Revenge is a dish which people of taste prefer to eat cold." - Kind Hearts and Coronets

    next note >add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 7:34 a.m. – Permalink
  • joqui

    i had the same once... sent a couple of mails. After a few months they took it offline... The annoying thing about it was that they also copied my statcounter code....

    next note >add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 7:34 a.m. – Permalink
  • ronin

    After contacting coloritstudio the second time about stealing our site, they wrote back...

    "Dear Jon,

    This is really annoying.

    We will investigate further and come back to you in the beginning of next week.

    Good weekend."

    "...annoying." ????? You have got to be kidding me...

    • wow...hilarious
      Burn it I says...burn it to the ground
      marychain1/2
      There taking the PISS.roundabout2/2
    next note >+ add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 7:46 a.m. – Permalink
  • roundabout

    Dam, this is just a blatant ripp. I not to sure how this would work being that the twat are in different country.

    next note >add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 8:12 a.m. – Permalink
  • tkmeister

    there's probably not much you can do legally. i mean, they are located in republic of moldova and it's very difficult force international copyright law on things like this.

    what i would do is, sign them up to all the spam emails, adult sites, all the crap that's out there.

    + add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 8:22 a.m. – Permalink
  • 734

    if he thinks your accusations are annoying, just be as annoying as possible

    next note >add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 8:23 a.m. – Permalink
  • ronin

    skt and marychain,

    Our site definetely was not a template. We designed and created the original at variousways inhouse. (back in 2004). We still have all previous version files leading to final design.

    http://web.archive.org/web/*/htt…

    next note >add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 8:39 a.m. – Permalink
  • skt

    just asking ronin... i've seen it happen before.

    next note >add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 8:41 a.m. – Permalink
  • skt

    it was probably the stock water effect you have used as the background.

    next note >add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 8:41 a.m. – Permalink
  • marychain

    yeah...the water effect is what did it for me. I'm pretty sure I've seen that elsewhere...or at least very similiar.

    next note >add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 8:43 a.m. – Permalink
  • harlequino

    Careful. They're in vampyre country out there. In fact, they're probably vampyres themselves. Suckin yer interwebs dry...

    • hah. Reminds me of Andrew from BtVS. I once had a prof from Transylvania. She taught me Science Fiction...Jaline
    + add note

    You must be logged in to add a note. Login now or register for an account.

    Cancel
    Dog-earJan 14, 08, 8:46 a.m. – Permalink

Login or Register to respond to this

Skip to main content